Television commenced in Germany on Mar 22, 1935, showing for 90 minutes thrice a week. The market for German television is 36.5 million households approximately in 2000, making it one of the largest television markets in Europe. More than 95% of households have at least one television receives nowadays in Germany. The main German TV channels are free to air in the country.

RTL Television (previously known as RTL plus) is a commercial television station broadcasted by means of cable and satellite as well as through digital terrestrial (DVB-T) in more high populated areas. RTL Group owns RTL Television and is the largest private free to air broadcaster in Germany in terms of market share. The live TV online service is also encouraged throughout the country.

The broadcasting for RTL television commenced on Jan 2, 1984 from VHF channel E7 in Luxembourg. It had a theoretical audience of 200,000 approximately until the year 1988, when it shifted headquarters to Cologne, Germany. Before this, it was considered a Luxembourg based station.

Zweites Deutsches Fernsehen (Second German Television) is a public service television broadcaster in Germany based in Mainz, Rhineland – Palatinate. It is operated as an independent non – profit institution which was founded by all the states in Germany. ZDF is sponsored / financed by television license fees as well as advertising revenues. The channel is well known for its famous TV formats heute (newscast that was established in 1963) and Wetten dass..? (entertainment based show that was established in 1981). Thomas Bellut (the current director general) was chosen by the ZDF Television Council in the year 2011.